SLO County Progressives proudly endorse these candidates in the November 6, 2018 election

Mail ballots will begin arriving October 8th, it is critical that you vote! The future of SLO County depends on it.

Betty Yee

for State Controller

Ricardo Lara

for Insurance Commissioner

Tony Thurmond

for Superintendent of Public Instruction

Malia Cohen

for Board of Equalization District 2

Bill Ostrander

for State Assembly District 35

Heidi Harmon

for SLO City Mayor

Jeff Lee

for Grover Beach Mayor

Caren Ray

for Arroyo Grande Mayor

Carlyn Christianson

for SLO City Council

Susan Funk

for Atascadero City Council

Jimmy Paulding

for Arroyo Grande City Council

Dawn Addis

for Morro Bay City Council

Mariam Shah

for Grover Beach City Council

Marilyn Rodger

for San Luis Coastal USD Governing Board Member, Trustee Area 2

Jim Quesenberry

for San Luis Coastal USD Governing Board Member, Trustee Area 2

Local Ballot Measures

Yes on Measure G

Ban Fracking

Yes on SLO City Measure F-18

Cannabis Tax

Yes on Morro Bay Measure D-18

Cannabis Tax

State Ballot Measures

Prop 1 – YES
Veterans and Affordable Housing Bond Act of 2018. Issues bonds for housing programs and veterans’ home loans.

Prop 2 – YES
No Place Like Home Act of 2018. Authorizes state to use revenue from millionaire’s tax for $2 billion in bonds for homelessness prevention housing.

Authorizes Bonds to Fund Projects for Water Supply and Quality, Watershed, Fish, Wildlife, Water Conveyance, and Groundwater Sustainability and Storage.

Prop 4 – YES
Authorizes Bonds Funding Construction at Hospitals Providing Children’s Health Care.

Prop 5 – NO
Changes Requirements for Certain Property Owners to Transfer Their Property Tax Base to Replacement Property.

Prop 6 – NO
Eliminates Recently Enacted Road Repair and Transportation Funding by Repealing Revenues Dedicated for Those Purposes. Requires Any Measure to Enact Certain Vehicle Fuel Taxes and Vehicle Fees Be Submitted to and Approved by the Electorate.

Prop 7 – YES
Daylight saving time.

Prop 8 – YES
Authorizes State Regulation of Kidney Dialysis Clinics. Limits Charges for Patient Care.

Prop 9 – NO
Division of California Into Three States.

Prop 10 – YES
Expands Local Governments’ Authority to Enact Rent Control on Residential Property.

Prop 11 – NO
Requires Private-Sector Emergency Ambulance Employees to Remain on Call During Work Breaks. Changes Other Conditions of Employment.

Prop 12 – YES
Establishes New Standards for Confinement of Certain Farm Animals; Bans Sale of Certain Non-Complying Products.

Officer Recommendations

In Races That the Club Did Not Consider An Endorsement

US Senate: Kevin DeLeon
US Congress 24th District: Salud Carbajal
Governor: Gavin Newsom
Lt. Governor: No Consensus
Secretary of State: Alex Padilla
Treasurer: Fiona Ma

Judicial Races:


We need people power to win these races.  If everyone pitched in just a couple of hours, it will have a huge impact!


Donate to Our Election Efforts

We don’t have the big money donors that our opponents do, but lots of small contributions can make a big difference.  Toss-in just a few dollars!


Run for Office in November

There are over 100 local elected offices on the ballot in November 2018 that we we can fill with progressives. Could you be one of them?

Learn More